Welcome! Bonjour!

University of British Columbia
Vancouver, Canada

We acknowledge that the UBC Vancouver campus where this meeting will be held is situated within the traditional, ancestral and unceded territory of the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam).

The rumors are true! After being thwarted by Covid in 2021, the Annual Meeting of the Canadian Society for Ecology and Evolution (CSEE) is back in Vancouver, BC, May 26-29, 2024. Meeting accommodations and the majority of meeting activities will be hosted at the University of British Columbia (UBC), a city within a city, with a diversity of attractions. This website is currently under construction as details are finalized, but please see the sidebar for a general idea of key dates. At this meeting, you can expect: a fun and welcoming community-oriented vibe, a diversity of innovative and affordable field trips and workshops, and a killer scientific program highlighting the scientific breadth of researchers across Canada.

 

Vancouver is renowned for its rich cultural scene, culinary delights, and breathtaking landscapes, including picturesque coastal views, lush forests, and majestic mountains, with easy access from UBC via an extensive public transit system. Why not visit early, to visit key attractions? Buy fresh pasta at Granville Island Market, say hi to the beavers at Stanley Park, observe Saturn through a telescope at the Space Centre, see the steam clock and visit a speakeasy in historic Gastown, or pet a rescued bunny at Commercial Drive. Venture a bit farther to climb Chief Mountain, eat a Honey's donut at Deep Cove, take a ferry to Salt Spring Island's famous Ganges market, surf the waves at Tofino, or camp at Golden Ears Provincial Park. Don’t want to venture far? On campus, you'll find popular tourist attractions, including the Museum of Anthropology, Wreck Beach, Beaty Biodiversity Museum, Pacific Spirit Park, and the UBC Botanical Garden where you can walk amongst the trees, accessible via campus buses or a stroll.

 

Vancouver is situated on the traditional and ancestral territories of the Coast Salish Peoples, including the Musqueam, Squamish, and Tsleil-Waututh Nations. Practitioners of science from academia, government agencies, NGOs, and other individuals interested in the fields of ecology, evolution, and conservation, both from Canada and internationally, are invited to join us. We are dedicated to providing opportunities for individuals from underrepresented groups in these scientific disciplines to attend and actively participate in the meeting. We strongly encourage the submission of symposia and workshop proposals that promote diversity, inclusion, decolonization, and reconciliation in fundamental and applied science, as well as education.

 

We can’t wait to see you in Vancouver!

 

An important side note: we encourage you to book your accommodations at UBC in the housing blocks UBC has reserved for us for this meeting. Doing so will give you convenient access to the conference, which is otherwise a trek from most of Vancouver, while also preventing CSEE from losing funds by helping to meet our quota with UBC.

Upcoming Dates

Closed: Proposals for symposia, workshops, and field trips

Closed: Proposals close

Early February 2024: Registration opens

March 15, 2024: Final day for contributed paper submissions (11:59 PM PT)

Welcome! Bonjour!

University of British Columbia
Vancouver, Canada

Nous reconnaissons que le campus de l'université de la Colombie Britannique à Vancouver, où se tiendra cette réunion, est situé sur le territoire traditionnel, ancestral et non cédé des xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam).

Les rumeurs sont varies. Après avoir été annulée par la Covid en 2021, la réunion annuelle de la société canadienne d'écologie et d'évolution (SCEE) est de retour à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, du 26 au 29 mai 2024. Les hébergements et la plupart des activités de la réunion se déroulent à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique (UBC), offrant une diversité d'attractions. Ce site web est couramment en construction alors que les détails sont finalisés, mais veuillez consulter le menu secondaire pour une idée générale des dates importants. Lors de cette réunion, vous pouvez vous attendre à : une ambiance conviviale et accueillante axée sur la communauté, une diversité d’excursions et d'ateliers innovants et abordables, ainsi qu'un un excellent programme scientifique présentant l'étendue de la recherche scientifique de partout au Canada.

 

Vancouver est réputée pour sa riche culture, ses délices culinaires et sa belle paysage—notamment des vues côtières pittoresques, des forêts luxuriantes et des montagnes majestueuses-- avec un accès facile de UBC d’un vaste réseau de transport en commun. Pourquoi ne pas visiter tôt pour découvrir les principales attractions? Achetez des pâtes fraîches au marché de Granville Island, trouvez les castors à Stanley Park, observez Saturne par télescope au Centre spatial, ou admirez l'horloge à vapeur et visitez un speakeasy dans le quartier historique de Gastown. Aventurez-vous un peu plus loin pour grimper le mont Chief, déguster un beignet Honey's à Deep Cove, prendre un traversier jusqu'au célèbre marché de Ganges sur Salt Spring Island, surfer sur les vagues à Tofino ou faire du camping au parc provincial Golden Ears. Vous ne voulez pas vous éloigner ? Sur le campus, vous trouverez des attractions touristiques populaires, notamment la Musée d'anthropologie, la Musée de la biodiversité Beaty, la plage Wreck Beach, le parc Pacific Spirit, et le jardin botanique de UBC, accessible par autobus ou bien à pied.

 

Vancouver est située sur les territoires traditionnels et ancestraux des nations Musqueam, Squamish et Tsleil-Waututh. Les scientifiques et les étudiants issus du milieu universitaire, des organismes gouvernementaux, des ONG et d'autres personnes intéressées par les domaines de l'écologie, de l'évolution et de la conservation, tant du Canada qu'à l'échelle internationale, sont invités à se joindre à nous. Nous nous engageons à offrir des opportunités aux personnes des groupes sous-représentés dans ces disciplines scientifiques d'assister et de participer activement à la réunion. Nous encourageons vivement la soumission de propositions de symposiums et d'ateliers qui favorisent la diversité, l'inclusion, la décolonisation et la réconciliation dans les sciences fondamentales et appliquées, ainsi que dans l'éducation.

 

Nous avons hâte de vous rencontrer à Vancouver !

 

Note importante : nous vous encourageons à réserver votre hébergement à l'UBC dans les blocs de logements réservés par l'UBC pour cette réunion. Cela vous donnera un accès pratique à la conférence, qui est autrement un à l'écart du reste de Vancouver, tout en évitant à la CSEE de perdre des fonds en nous aidant à atteindre notre quota avec l'UBC.

Dates à venir

Closed: Proposals for symposia, workshops, and field trips

Closed: Clôture des propositions

Début février 2024: Ouverture des inscriptions

March 15, 2024: Final day for contributed paper submissions (11:59 PM PT)